Calling Developers!
We are reenergizing our code contribution process! Learn More

What are the Slack Archives?

It’s a history of our time together in the Slack Community! There’s a ton of knowledge in here, so feel free to search through the archives for a possible answer to your question.

Because this space is not active, you won’t be able to create a new post or comment here. If you have a question or want to start a discussion about something, head over to our categories and pick one to post in! You can always refer back to a post from Slack Archives if needed; just copy the link to use it as a reference..

Hello! I'm experiencing some serious performance issues while using mutagen. Here's the output of `t

Options
U01DE320SN6
U01DE320SN6 Posts: 37 🧑🏻‍🚀 - Cadet

Hello! I'm experiencing some serious performance issues while using mutagen. Here's the output of top inside the container:

Load average: 22.94 23.11 20.13 17/1455 351
  PID  PPID USER     STAT   VSZ %VSZ CPU %CPU COMMAND
  275     0 root     S     965m   8%   1  12% .mutagen/agents/0.12.0-beta2/mutagen-agent synchronizer
  258     0 root     S     966m   8%   4  12% .mutagen/agents/0.12.0-beta2/mutagen-agent synchronizer
  224     0 root     S     965m   8%   1  11% .mutagen/agents/0.12.0-beta2/mutagen-agent synchronizer
  240     0 root     S     966m   8%   3  11% .mutagen/agents/0.12.0-beta2/mutagen-agent synchronizer
  204     0 root     S     966m   8%   2  11% .mutagen/agents/0.12.0-beta2/mutagen-agent synchronizer
  293     0 root     S     966m   8%   0  10% .mutagen/agents/0.12.0-beta2/mutagen-agent synchronizer
  165     0 root     S     966m   8%   2  10% .mutagen/agents/0.12.0-beta2/mutagen-agent synchronizer
  188     0 root     S     965m   8%   5  10% .mutagen/agents/0.12.0-beta2/mutagen-agent synchronizer
    1     0 root     S     686m   6%   2   0% /usr/bin/mutagen-sidecar-entry
  344     0 root     S     1648   0%   4   0% sh
  351   344 root     R     1580   0%   4   0% top 

Is there any way to solve it? My laptop is barely usable when spryker is up.

«1

Comments

  • Alexander Veselov
    Alexander Veselov Sprykee Posts: 9 🧑🏻‍🚀 - Cadet
    edited April 2021
    Options

    Are you using mac OS or Linux? Linux helped me

  • U01DE320SN6
    U01DE320SN6 Posts: 37 🧑🏻‍🚀 - Cadet
    Options

    I'm using macOS

  • U01BSK9JKPV
    U01BSK9JKPV Posts: 8 🧑🏻‍🚀 - Cadet
    Options

    Hi, have you tried to terminate your mutagen syncing sessions?
    You can try executing mutagen list to see the sync sessions list, and then try terminating each of them via mutagen sync terminate <session_name> . Maybe that would help you

  • U01DE320SN6
    U01DE320SN6 Posts: 37 🧑🏻‍🚀 - Cadet
    edited April 2021
    Options

    @U01BSK9JKPV Thank you, it was exactly the case. For some reason, I had 12 sessions run at the time, so I killed 11 of them and it worked like a magic.

  • U01BSK9JKPV
    U01BSK9JKPV Posts: 8 🧑🏻‍🚀 - Cadet
    Options

    That’s nice to hear 😉

  • U01BSK9JKPV
    U01BSK9JKPV Posts: 8 🧑🏻‍🚀 - Cadet
    Options

    By the way you can always remove / terminate all of them and just run docker/sdk run again - the new session will be automatically created (at least it should be 😉)

  • U01DE320SN6
    U01DE320SN6 Posts: 37 🧑🏻‍🚀 - Cadet
    Options

    Indeed, I found the issue

  • U01DE320SN6
    U01DE320SN6 Posts: 37 🧑🏻‍🚀 - Cadet
    Options

    Every time I run docker/sdk run it creates a new session

  • U01DE320SN6
    U01DE320SN6 Posts: 37 🧑🏻‍🚀 - Cadet
    Options

    Even if old ones are still running

  • sprymiker
    sprymiker Cloud Platform Architect Sprykee Posts: 781 🧑🏻‍🚀 - Cadet
    Options

    Make sure you have latest mutagen version

  • U01DE320SN6
    U01DE320SN6 Posts: 37 🧑🏻‍🚀 - Cadet
    Options

    I'm using 0.12.0-beta2, which is the latest one in beta channel. Or should I switch to dev one?

  • U01LE4BMBK7
    U01LE4BMBK7 Posts: 241 🧑🏻‍🚀 - Cadet
    Options

    I have the restart my mac after a few hours of developing because the mutagen process uses 2 GB or more and becomes unreliable. Class XXTransfer not found and other random issues.

  • U01LE4BMBK7
    U01LE4BMBK7 Posts: 241 🧑🏻‍🚀 - Cadet
    Options

    sometimes docker/sdk trouble fixes the issue but often a restart is better

  • sprymiker
    sprymiker Cloud Platform Architect Sprykee Posts: 781 🧑🏻‍🚀 - Cadet
    edited April 2021
    Options

    How many mutagen sessions do you have there?

  • U01LE4BMBK7
    U01LE4BMBK7 Posts: 241 🧑🏻‍🚀 - Cadet
    Options

    currently 3 (1 paused) but sometimes just one

  • U01LE4BMBK7
    U01LE4BMBK7 Posts: 241 🧑🏻‍🚀 - Cadet
    Options

    I have 64 GB RAM which should be enough but when mutagen is at 2 GB there are always errors

  • sprymiker
    sprymiker Cloud Platform Architect Sprykee Posts: 781 🧑🏻‍🚀 - Cadet
    Options

    It should be only one for one project.

  • U01LE4BMBK7
    U01LE4BMBK7 Posts: 241 🧑🏻‍🚀 - Cadet
    Options

    I just booted my machine but it still had 2 or 3 "old" sessions

  • sprymiker
    sprymiker Cloud Platform Architect Sprykee Posts: 781 🧑🏻‍🚀 - Cadet
    Options

    And I wonder why is it so. For me it does not recreate extra sessions. Would it be related to docker version…

  • U01LE4BMBK7
    U01LE4BMBK7 Posts: 241 🧑🏻‍🚀 - Cadet
    Options
    docker version
    Client: Docker Engine - Community
     Cloud integration: 1.0.9
     Version:           20.10.5
     API version:       1.41
     Go version:        go1.13.15
     Git commit:        55c4c88
     Built:             Tue Mar  2 20:13:00 2021
     OS/Arch:           darwin/amd64
     Context:           default
     Experimental:      true
    
    Server: Docker Engine - Community
     Engine:
      Version:          20.10.5
      API version:      1.41 (minimum version 1.12)
      Go version:       go1.13.15
      Git commit:       363e9a8
      Built:            Tue Mar  2 20:15:47 2021
      OS/Arch:          linux/amd64
      Experimental:     false
     containerd:
      Version:          1.4.3
      GitCommit:        269548fa27e0089a8b8278fc4fc781d7f65a939b
     runc:
      Version:          1.0.0-rc92
      GitCommit:        ff819c7e9184c13b7c2607fe6c30ae19403a7aff
     docker-init:
      Version:          0.19.0
      GitCommit:        de40ad0
    
    mutagen version 0.12.0-beta2
    
  • U01LE4BMBK7
    U01LE4BMBK7 Posts: 241 🧑🏻‍🚀 - Cadet
    Options

    @ULYHPR789 I will kill all sessions now and observe when a new session is created

  • sprymiker
    sprymiker Cloud Platform Architect Sprykee Posts: 781 🧑🏻‍🚀 - Cadet
    Options

    I have a feeling that it could be related specifically to run command. What if use only up one?

  • U01LE4BMBK7
    U01LE4BMBK7 Posts: 241 🧑🏻‍🚀 - Cadet
    Options

    just FYI: I never use run

  • U01LE4BMBK7
    U01LE4BMBK7 Posts: 241 🧑🏻‍🚀 - Cadet
    Options

    @ULYHPR789 I keep having multiple sync sessions

  • U01LE4BMBK7
    U01LE4BMBK7 Posts: 241 🧑🏻‍🚀 - Cadet
    Options

    I will try to observe today when a new one is added

  • U01LE4BMBK7
    U01LE4BMBK7 Posts: 241 🧑🏻‍🚀 - Cadet
    Options

    just had 4 and ran docker/sdk trouble to kill them

  • U01LE4BMBK7
    U01LE4BMBK7 Posts: 241 🧑🏻‍🚀 - Cadet
    Options

    quick question: is .git ignored from synching between host and container?

  • sprymiker
    sprymiker Cloud Platform Architect Sprykee Posts: 781 🧑🏻‍🚀 - Cadet
    Options

    it would be helpful if we see the reproducible steps of the issue, what causes the duplication. Would you try, please, to catch the exact flow that brings the problem.

  • sprymiker
    sprymiker Cloud Platform Architect Sprykee Posts: 781 🧑🏻‍🚀 - Cadet
    edited April 2021
    Options

    .git is excluded by default to reduce sync overhead. You can use .dockersyncignore to change the behavior.

  • U01LE4BMBK7
    U01LE4BMBK7 Posts: 241 🧑🏻‍🚀 - Cadet
    Options

    @ULYHPR789 it seems like using Restart on Docker Desktop will create an additional sync session